Dreams aren’t just for when you’re sleeping

“A girl with stars in her eyes” could not be a more appropriate title for my newest blog, as I am a rising senior in college, hoping to make it big once I graduate a year from now. I couldn’t be happier or more optimistic about my post-graduation dreams coming true as they’re unfolding right before my eyes in an amazing internship that I’ve taken on this summer. My graduation quote in high school read:

“Keep your eyes on the stars, and your feet on the ground” – Theodore Roosevelt

and I have to say, I couldn’t have picked a more appropriate quote. At the time, I had just picked a seemingly arbitrary inspirational one (I really wanted a Dr. Seuss quote but I knew they’d all be taken), I saw this painted on a bathroom stall and thought that it would do just fine. Little did I know how true it was and would become for me. I have always been taught to work hard, that the time you put in now will pay off in a big way in the end. I’ve always stuck by this, and I have seen the pay off my parents talked about. First it started with small things like grades, invitations to Honors Societies, raises in my small-town job back home, lead roles in dance performances, but now a whole new world is opening up for me. I’m being invited to perform research funded by my school, speak with prospective students about coming to campus, guest perform with my school’s dance team, interview with the marketing department at school, intern at a flourishing event planning company, I could go on and on. I’ve kept my eyes on the stars for a very long time, and now my dreams are coming true.

-elise

Leave a Reply

